Addiction.

What is an addiction?… I often ask myself that question, whether it is an addiction to drugs and/or alcohol, smoking or just plainly addicted to anything like T.V shows. Is everything I know about addiction wrong? I know I don’t know much but I often wonder why people tend to have an addiction to drugs and/or alcohol as I know so many people who are addicts. Is it true that using drugs is NOT about willpower or character? Most problematic drug use is related to stress, trauma, genetic predisposition, mild or serious mental illness, use at an early age, or some combination of those. I’m not going to lie I once was a teenager who had the urge for experimental of drugs, BUT I realized drugs just isn’t for me. So how do we move away from the stigma of addiction, and from the idea that if addicts just tried hard enough, or were made of stronger stuff, they could conquer their addiction? I think this is where it all begins; that children of addicted parents are the highest at-risk group to become an addict, themselves. I hope every addict will overcome their addiction to better there lives and just stop hurting the people around them, family and loved ones. And it all begins with the two aspects of motivation: recognizing and wanting to correct it. Taking personal responsibility is very important as well. Everyone should be responsible for their actions, and the addict is no different.


Leave a comment